• Overview of Standardized Tests for Post Secondary Planning
     
    Which College Entrance Exam is Right for You?
     
     
    PSAT
     
    Who takes the PSAT?
     
    All college-bound juniors should consider the PSAT mandatory.
    College-bound sophomores can take the test as practice.
     
    2019 PSAT/NMSQT Dates
    2019 PSAT/NMSQT Administration Date
    Saturday Test Day October 19, 2019
     
    Registering for the exam:
     
    PSAT's will be administered at John Jay High School October 19, 2019 from 7:30m-11:15am
    Registration begins:  October 1, 2014
    Registration deadline:  October 16, 2019.
    The cost is $17.00 per student checks ONLY payable to Wappingers Central School District (WCSD)
    Please include the student's name and ID# in the memo area of the check.
    Students should pick up and return their form and check to Mrs. Jakuba in room 223.
    NO registrations will be accepted after October 16, 2019.
    NO CASH ACCEPTED.
     
    For more information about the PSAT go to the following link.
     
    On the day of the Exam: 
     
    The PSAT begins at 7:30. Students taking this test should arrive at least 15 minutes early to find their testing location. Lists are posted alphabetically in the main lobby. ID is required. 
     
    How do I see the PSAT Scores?
     
    To better understand your PSAT score report, students and parents can attend a Free PSAT Score Return Seminar held by Kaplan Test Prep.   http://www.kaptest.com/psat/enroll?tab=events
     
     
    SAT

    Who takes the SAT?
     
    All college-bound juniors should take the SAT or the ACT, typically in the spring.
    Seniors often take the test again in the fall to try to improve their score.  
     
    When is the SAT offered?
     
    Time:          7:30 AM – 12:45 PM

    Location:    RCK       

    2019-20 SAT Administration Dates and Deadlines
    SAT Date SAT Subject Tests Available Registration Deadline Late Registration Deadline Deadline for Changes
    October 5, 2019

    Register

    Learn more
    See SAT Subject Tests available on this date September 6, 2019

    September 17, 2019 (for mailed registrations)

    September 24, 2019 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    September 24, 2019
    November 2, 2019

    Register
    See SAT Subject Tests available on this date October 3, 2019

    October 15, 2019 (for mailed registrations)

    October 22, 2019 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    October 22, 2019
    December 7, 2019

    Register
    See SAT Subject Tests available on this date November 8, 2019

    November 19, 2019 (for mailed registrations)

    November 26, 2019 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    November 26, 2019

    March 14, 2020

    Register

    Canceled - For More Information Click HERE

    SAT Subject Tests not offered on this date February 14, 2020

    February 25, 2020 (for mailed registrations)

    March 3, 2020 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    March 3, 2020

    May 2, 2020

    Register

    Canceled - For More Information Click HERE

    See SAT Subject Tests available on this date April 3, 2020

    April 14, 2020 (for mailed registrations)

    April 21, 2020 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    April 21, 2020
    June 6, 2020

    Register
    See SAT Subject Tests available on this date May 8, 2020

    May 19, 2020 (for mailed registrations)

    May 27, 2020 (for registrations made online or by phone)

    May 27, 2020
     
     
    How do I Register for the SAT?
     
    Register for SATs at:       http://www.collegeboard.com
    Test Center Code:            33958 (RCK)
    John Jay CEEB Code:     332458
     
    ACT
     
     
    The ACT is offered at Ketcham High School in Wappingers, so you should choose test center code 246470 when you register.   
     

    2019-2020 Test Dates (National)

     

    ACT Test Date

    Registration Deadline

    Late Registration Deadline

    September 14, 2019

    August 16, 2019

    August 30, 2019

    October 26, 2019

    September 20, 2019

    October 4, 2019

    December 14, 2019

    November 8, 2019

    November 22, 2019

    February 8, 2020

    January 10, 2020

    January 17, 2020

    April 4, 2020

    Canceled - Students may attend

    the June 13 test or choose

    another.  More information HERE

    February 28, 2020

    March 13, 2020

    June 13, 2020

    May 8, 2020

    May 22, 2020

    July 18, 2020*

    June 19, 2020

    June 26, 2020

         

    *No test centers are scheduled in New York for the February and July test dates.

     
    Advanced Placement Tests (AP)
     

    AP Students- Read for important updates:

    Update From the Collegeboard Spring 2020 2020 Regarding Covid-19 AP Testing and Resources

    Info for Students Taking AP Exams From Home

    Online Learning Resources for AP

     

    AP Students and Families:

    It's time to submit your registration form and payment for AP exams given May 4 - May 15, 2020. The initial cost of the AP is $95, and there is an additional $40 late fee for any exams ordered after November 15th and a $40 fee for any exams cancelled by February 28th, 2020.  No refunds will be available after February 28th, 2020. 

    Check the AP exam schedule to find out when each of your AP exams are being given. Make sure there are no conflicts. If you have a testing conflict, see your school counselor.

    Students with an IEP or 504 who would like to use their testing accommodations for an AP exam need to submit a request to College Board by January 17th, 2020. Testing accommodations must be preapproved by College Board's Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD).  Students who have already submitted a request for College Board testing accommodations, including for PSAT or SAT, do not need to apply again. See your school counselor if you need to apply or if you have any questions.

    There is a partial fee reduction available to students who qualify. See your school counselor with questions regarding this.

    AP REGISTRATION FORM <- Click here for the form.

     Who takes AP exams?

     
    AP exams are given to students enrolled in Advanced Placement Courses. Passing scores on these test may qualify students for college credit.  Each college makes a decision about how many credits it will offer, and they may offer a different number of credits based on the score achieved.  Some of the most competitive colleges offer no credit.  However, they have an expectation that high performing students demonstrate a level of rigor that advanced placement courses provide, and they may use high AP scores as a piece of evidence in the college admissions process.
     
    College Board/AP Exams

    Registration for spring 2020 AP Exams will take place in Room 223 beginning Monday, October 21, 2019.  The registration period will end on Friday, November 8, 2019.  The 2020 Exam Fee is $95.00 per exam.  Checks should be made out to (WCSD) – NO CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED**CHECKS OR MONEY ORDERS ONLY.  A late fee, in the amount of $40 will be assessed for each exam ordered between November 16, 2019-February 28, 2020.

    THE DEADLINE IS November 8, 2019.

    College Board will not provide refunds after February 28, 2020.

    Any student who has ordered and paid for an exam but requests a refund after February 28, 2020 deadline will be charged a $40.00 fee

    Click here for additional information.

     

    Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

    Hawaii Time: 6:00 a.m.
    Alaska Time: 8:00 a.m.
    Pacific Time: 9:00 a.m.
    Mountain Time: 10:00 a.m.
    Central Time: 11:00 a.m.
    Eastern Time: 12:00 p.m.
    Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00 p.m.

    Hawaii Time: 8:00 a.m.
    Alaska Time: 10:00 a.m.
    Pacific Time: 11:00 a.m.
    Mountain Time: 12:00 p.m.
    Central Time: 1:00 p.m.
    Eastern Time: 2:00 p.m.
    Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00 p.m.

    Hawaii Time: 10:00 a.m.
    Alaska Time: 12:00 p.m.
    Pacific Time: 1:00 p.m.
    Mountain Time: 2:00 p.m.
    Central Time: 3:00 p.m.
    Eastern Time: 4:00 p.m.
    Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00 p.m.

    Mon, May 11

    Physics C: Mechanics

    Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

    United States Government and Politics

    Tues, May 12

    Latin

    Calculus AB

     

    Calculus BC

    Human Geography

    Wed, May 13

    Physics 2: Algebra-Based

    English Literature and Composition

    European History

    Thurs, May 14

    Spanish Literature and Culture

    Chemistry

    Physics 1: Algebra-Based

    Fri, May 15

    Art History

    United States History

    Computer Science A

    Mon, May 18

    Chinese Language and Culture

    Biology

    Environmental Science

    Tues, May 19

    Music Theory

    Psychology

    Japanese Language and Culture

     

    Italian Language and Culture

    Wed, May 20

    German Language and Culture

    English Language and Composition

    Microeconomics

    Thurs, May 21

    French Language and Culture

    World History: Modern

    Macroeconomics

    Fri, May 22

    Comparative Government and Politics

    Statistics

    Spanish Language and Culture

     
     
     
     
    CLEP  
     
    What is the CLEP?
     
    Students can take CLEP exams to demonstrate proficiency in some college courses.  Some colleges accept CLEPs for credit.  Others accept CLEPs as evidence that students have demonstrated proficiency in a general education subject (like a foreign language).  This may enable students to waive that course in college and replace it with some other elective. Contact your college admissions office for more information. 
     
     
    Looking for more information about PSAT, SAT or CLEP Exams, Deadlines, Sign ups and Testing sites?
     
     

    Exciting Offer for John Jay Students Provided by Princeton Review: http://www.princetonreview.com/partner/wappfalls#!Test-ACT.