• Congratulations to the Hudson Valley Magazine Teacher Appreciation Awards Nominees

    Posted by Amy Watkins on 2/23/2021
    Comments (-1)
  • Mr. Herman Presents at the National American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) Conference

    Posted by Amy Watkins on 2/22/2021
    As a result of Mr. Tad Herman participating at West Virginia University in Morgantown, and the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in Green Bank for the past three summers, he was invited to present at the National American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) Winter (Virtual) Conference in January 2021.  The talk was in regards to an experiment he conducted (in part with John Jay students) with the homemade radio telescopes built in the summer.  Of the 10 or so presenters in the subcategory of Astronomy Education Research. Mr. Herman was the only high school teacher (the others were 2 and 4-year college professors).
    From the same experiment, he is having a paper published in the AAPT's The Physics Teacher monthly publication. This is about a year-long process, so we are hopeful it will be published in the fall of 2021. 
    Mr. Herman stumbled across a unique approach to an experiment that allowed him to actually measure the speed of the Earth around the Sun.  Some West Virginia University professors and NRAO astronomers were impressed enough to persuade Mr. Herman to have his work published. Below is the video of the presentation from the January Winter Conference.

    Comments (-1)
  • RCK Student Artwork

    Posted by Amy Watkins on 1/29/2021

    Roy C. Ketcham High School Students: 
    Instructor: Kelley Hedin

    Comments (-1)
  • Non-Traditional Art Materials by John Jay HS Students

    Posted by Amy Watkins on 11/18/2020 3:00:00 PM

    John Jay High School Students: Advanced Art 2
    Instructor: Rebecca Zilinski

    Comments (-1)