

The 38th Annual Windfest Thursday, February 20, 2025 7:00PM Roy C. Ketcham High School Dr. Mark Vickers, Conductor



Dr. Mark Vickers currently serves as a music education professor at the Hartt School, University of Hartford and the University of Bridgeport. At the Hartt School, Dr. Vickers supervises student teachers and teaches various music education courses. At the University of Bridgeport, Dr. Vickers oversees all music student teachers while also teaching conducting, rehearsal leadership, and piano courses while formerly conducting the University of Bridgeport Knights' Ensemble. Prior to these positions, he served in public education in Connecticut for 35 years primarily as a secondary level instrumental music educator. He has worked with band programs with students in grades 4 – 12 and choruses with students from grades 6 – 12.

He has presented his research at various national music education conferences including the Suncoast Music Education Symposium, Desert Skies Symposium, SMTE

Symposium, and CMEA Conference. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in music education from the University of Bridgeport and a Masters of Music Education degree and Ph.D. from the Hartt School, University of Hartford. His research lines include the gender stereotyping of music instruments and assessment techniques.

He serves as a flute adjudicator for CMEA inclusive of middle school and high school regionals throughout the state as well as All-State. He has adjudicated numerous music festivals staged by Music In The Parks, Fun Festivals, and Trills and Thrills. He has worked as a guest conductor and has conducted several community bands.

As a performer, he is principal flutist with the Connecticut Symphony Orchestra and director of the New York Flute Club Flute Ensemble Program in Manhattan. Dr. Vickers studied flute extensively with Julius Baker and John Wion. He also freelances as a jazz pianist performing with Metro Jazz. He also is music director of the Silk City Jazz Band in Manchester, CT.

Dr. Mark Vickers, Guest Conductor

John Jay Symphonic Band Ryan C. Banda, Director

Amazing Grace

Program

Variations on a Shaker Melody

The Fairest of the Fair

Frank Ticheli

John Philip Sousa Arranged by Frederick Fennell

Roy C. Ketcham Wind Ensemble **Richard Holod, Director**

Fanfare and Allegro

Dusk

Liberty Bell

Clifton Williams

Stephen Bryant

John Philip Sousa Arranged by Jay Bocook

The Combined Ensembles

An American Elegy

Toccata for Band

Frank Ticheli

Frank Erickson

Aaron Copland

John Jay Symphonic Band

Ryan C. Banda, Director

Flute Victoria Abt - piccolo Izabella Mercurio Hrudya Talasila Karen Wong

Oboe Abigail Pezzullo

Clarinet

Colin Carr Viggo Forsell Emma Mazzotta Jacob Newsam Elena Okon Amanda Vidal Charlotte Wang

Bass Clarinet Jacob Hedges - Contrabass Alison Van Riper

Alto Saxophone Agastya Chennamsetty Jack Foley Christian Forcelli Ved Kaderu Sean Mangano Nathanael Olubummo **Tenor Saxophone** Matthew Russo Ryan Shapiro

Baritone Saxophone Francis Leahy

Trumpet Joseph Marra Nicolas Pappas

Trombone Nathaniel Eisley

Euphonium Daniella Stanforth

Tuba Nicholas Naso

Percussion Mason Gardner Abhay Gupta Sophie Michaelis Aryelle Santiago Neil Soedler

Roy C. Ketcham Wind Ensemble

Richard Holod, Director

Flute Shiven Dhabi Karter Griggs Bryanna Hodge Christian Viala

Clarinet Alexander Arvelo Anabelle Doering Caroline Garnica Nieto Gia Mejia Eduardo Silva

Bass Clarinet Aiden Pountain Jackson Todaro

Alto Saxophone Anjolaoluwa Odeniyi Abby Ostrander David Roe

Tenor Saxophone Edward Schiller

Baritone Saxophone Kathleen Bruno Trumpets Kelsey Bollen Aiden Caba Ethan Caba Brenden Harris Lily Secor

Trombone Bryan Hodge William Reitter Isaiah Schmalz

Tuba Armando Ayala-Birriel

Percussion John DiNonno John Harkins Kayla Letbetter Nathan Lutz Austin McOueen



Past Guest Conductors

2024 Julia Baumanis 2023 Todd Nichols 2022 Michael Schaff 2021 no festival 2020 Victor Izzo 2019 Todd Nichols 2018 Curt Ebersole 2017 Emily Threinen 2016 Darryl Bott 2015 Marian Stewart 2014 James McRoy 2013 Victor Izzo 2012 Kraig Williams 2011 William Berz 2010 Paula Holcomb 2009 Charles Peltz 2008 Richard F. Regan 2007 Michael Schaff 2006 William Berz

- 2005 Mark Fonder
- 2004 James McRoy
- 2003 Edward S. Lisk
- 2002 Patrick Jones
- 2001 William Garlette
- 2000 Ronald Sutherland
- 1999 Michael Schaff
- 1998 Scott Lavine
- 1997 Sarah McKoin
- 1996 Charles Peltz
- 1995 Stephen Melillo
- 1994 Rebekah Covell
- 1993 Robert Spradling
- 1992 Scott Lavine
- 1991 Anthony Maiello
- 1990 no festival
- 1989 Timothy Topolewsky
- 1988 Larry Rachleff
- 1987 Anthony Maiello

Upcoming Events

- Mar 19 Band North Pyramid Concert @ RCK
- Mar 19 Band South Pyramid Concert @ JJ
- Mar 28-30 Proscenium Presents Curtains @ JJ
- Apr 11-13 Masque & Mime Presents Grease @ RCK
- Apr 25-26 NYSSMA Solo Festival @ Lagrange MS (jazz & drum set)
- May 17 75th Festival of the Arts @ Mesier Park
- May 9-10 NYSSMA Solo Festival @ Carmel

BOARD OF EDUCATION Michael McFarland. President Eddy A. Sloshower, Vice President

Virgil Capollari Marie Johnson Peggy Kelland John C. Lumia Cheryl Migatz John S. Morgan Keith Odums

SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS Dr. Dwight Bonk

SENIOR STAFF ADMINISTRATION Daren Lolkema Assistant Superintendent for Administration and Information Systems

Dr. Michelle Cardwell Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction

Kristen Dainty Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Business Development

Richard Zipp Assistant Superintendent of Student Support Services

> **Renee Harris** Executive Director of Human Resources

> > **Ronald Broas** Director of Facilities III

Bonnie King Director of Fine & Performing Arts, Foreign Language and ENL

ROY C. KETCHAM

ADMINISTRATION

David Seipp Timothy Feron Jenna Ferris Michael Lopez Sandy Posada

Rebecca Daniels

Doreen Ballou

Principal Assistant Principal Assistant Principal Assistant Principal Assistant Principal

David Kedzielawa Paul Albanese Jeanine Chapin Natalie Cotto Sheryll Murray-Lazarus

JOHN JAY

TEACHERS-IN-CHARGE

Robyn Talbot-Howard

MUSIC STAFF

Ryan Banda **Rich Holod**

Lisa Esposito James Trainor

Lisa Esposito

James Weinrich